Painting with Flora Bowley

If you love to paint with your hands, dance while you paint, and practice yoga in between, then you need to be in painter extraordinaire Flora Bowley’s Bloom True! class. This past weekend at Teesha Moore’s Artfest Annex in Seattle,  Flora presided over 22 artists as we followed her along a 2-day journey working on two 30″x30″ canvases. We scrubbed, scratched, finger painted and explored different ways of mark making, with a few surprises thrown in by Flora. Gifts she calls them, that’s all I am saying. You will have to attend her class to understand why all of us True Bloom! graduates are laughing. And for that group, just imagine, I was gifted with not one but two gifts! It all ended well and I am thrilled with my finished products.

Flora making the finishing touches to her demo painting

I know some of you who know my painting style will laugh when I tell you that I finished early so I had time to read Flora’s galley for her new book by Quarry, Brave Intuitive Painting-Let Go, Be Bold, Unfold!: Techniques for Uncovering Your Own Unique Painting Style.

Flora with a copy of her new book

It’s being released May 1 and you can pre-order it
here. I’m telling you, it’s an award winner. You can see Flora’s hand in the graphics as she added her own drawings and her intuitive style to the layout and colors, and her prose stays true to her teaching style. I know that I am gushing here, but it really is that good. It’s a visual feast for your eyes and it takes you through the process of what we experienced in her workshop. If you can’t get to her workshops, then run to your computer and preorder this book. You won’t be sorry.
My finished paintings.

Flora challenged us to let loose, go with the flow and Bloom True! with our own style. Thank you, Flora, for a wonderful experience. I look forward to hearing more about your upcoming E-course.

My tablemate--Camille

 

 

 

Thanks, Camille, for making this such a great experience. I appreciated your gift and your talent. Go here for Julie Hamilton’s Flickr album.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. spaark says:

    Kathie…your paintings look fantastic on that gray wall. So nice and vibrant! Thanks for getting in touch. Off to explore more of your blog. Julie

    Like

  2. Thanks, Julie. May I post your Flickr photo stream?

    Like

  3. Cheryl says:

    Fabulous. I’m so jealous. I knew I should have signed up for the one in berkeley. I’ll check it out again. Maybe I’ll get on the waiting list.

    Love your paintings. Are the finished? Where will you put them?

    Xoxo
    Cheryl

    Like

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. They are finished and I have a nice big wall big enough for the two of them in the family room which has been waiting for just the right art. Who knew it would be mine?

      Like

  4. Sunny says:

    I wish I could have been there! Your paintings are gorgeous. Fantastic color and a true step outside your comfort zone (in my opinion!). Beautiful! xoxo

    Like

    1. Not such a big step, I do use my hands a lot while I paint. I’m not used to so much layering, though. It is an interesting process.

      Like

  5. camille says:

    You beautifully captured the essence of Flora’s class. I loved seeing you again and being in Flora’s class with you. Your paintings (gifts!!!) evolved into rich, textural, colorful and yummy images. It will be interesting to see how Flora’s work and approach evolve in our work, it was an inspiring two days, shared with a friend 🙂 Your blog is delicious, love your paintings and the header painting is lovely. You are inspiring me to get in gear! I took over the dining room table and have been painting in between things on my paintings. I will send along a photo when I hit complete!! Hugs have a wonderful day. c

    Like

  6. Yes, please, I would love to see your finished work. I am excited for our play date in January. Have a great holiday season and thanks for commenting, my friend.

    Like

    1. camille says:

      Yes, we need a play date! Happy Thanksgiving!

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.