Dyeing with Sue Stover

When I saw this piece by Sue Stover, I just had to share it. I’m on a swift trajectory upward learning about dyeing before our Great Indigo Adventure in September.

Isn’t this amazing? That is actual horsehair jutting out of the painting.

www.kathievezzani.com
www.kathievezzani.com

Imagine, this all started with a vat of indigo dye. My head is spinning with all the material that Judy Wise and Sue are making since they returned from Australia.

Here’s another incredible piece by Sue that I covet. Of course I am attracted to it because it has rusty bits attached.
www.kathievezzani.com

Sue has quite the background in textile pigments and dyes, having taught at U.C. Davis and worked for Jacquard Products for ten years. She teaches workshops nationally and internationally and her paintings are in many private collections. Maybe one day, I’ll own one, too.

You can also find Sue on Facebook.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. kampysgirl says:

    WOW! Too cool -is what I say!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Betti Zucker says:

    Yes,these are to drool for. I want one too

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sue Stver says:

    Wow! Thanks, Kathie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are most welcome, Sue. I am very excited about your new work. It’s fantastic.

      Like

  4. Anne Kneller says:

    Giddyup! So cool

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anne Kneller says:

    Question for Sue .. Is that your perpetual dye bath? It looks so healthy and alive. Can you comment on it please?

    Like

    1. Sue Stover says:

      Hi Anne, That’s one I started before Thanksgiving. Unfortunately, I didn’t tend it too well and it got too cold in my studio so it died. It’s possible to keep an indigo vat going for a very long time given the right conditions and careful tending.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. dorylyn says:

    Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, right, Dory?!

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.

