Homage to a wonderful Italian I knew

Recently, my family lost the most wonderful, proud Italian, my father-in-law, the man my husband was named after, although I called him Mr. V. He lived a long life full of family and good friends and was a supportive and loving grandfather to my two sons.  He loved me unconditionally and I will always treasure our time together, especially the times we shared on the golf course.

This piece kind of rattled around in my head for a week while I was acknowledging his death and my grief. It’s called, Final Ascension. I started with a drawer, added plaster to the inside,  a layered background, then encaustic wax and oils. The piece from a watch hanging on the outside right frame represents time unraveling, and small pieces of watches embedded into the wax show the path through the sky toward the top.

www.kathievezzani.com, plaster, encaustic, assemblage, bird, ladder

www.kathievezzani.com, plaster, encaustic, assemblage

22 Comments Add yours

  1. What a beautiful and moving tribute to Mr. V. Kathie. I know how much you miss him and this is such a perfect way to express it. I can see him smiling at you as he hits the next drive down the fairway. Bet it’s a hole in one . xoxo

    Like

    1. I bet it is, too, and Barney is holding the flag.

      Like

  2. Suzanne Mobberley says:

    this is very beautiful and moving. how lucky you are to have had him in your life and how lucky you are to be able to express that through your art.

    Date: Fri, 14 Feb 2014 04:45:03 +0000 To: sgmobberley@hotmail.com

    Like

  3. Betti Zucker says:

    with tears in my eyes, I say thank you for sharing this very beautiful tribute!

    Like

    1. Ah, Betti, thanks, he was very special.

      Like

  4. Jamie Thomas says:

    Kathie – how wonderful to be able to honor this man with your heart and your hands. Simply a lovely tribute to Mr. V………

    Like

    1. Thank you, Jamie, I appreciate your comments and I do feel lucky that I can express my feelings with my art.

      Like

  5. Iknowyou-youknowme says:

    . {{.}} .

    Like

    1. Safe travels, my friend.

      Like

  6. Amy Persons says:

    Wish I could see it in person, I’m sure it’s even more beautiful. I love the background colors and the half corner frame on the top. Most of all, I love the message and the relationship it represents between you and Mr. V.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Amy. I wondered how I was going to respond visually so this was an interesting project.

      Like

  7. Diane Taylor says:

    Kathie, This piece is really splendid–the design, painting and embellishments. It is a true tribute to Mr. V. Lucky you for having such a special relationship.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Diane. He was a keeper!

      Like

  8. Holiday says:

    Sorry you you and Bob for your loss.

    Like

    1. Gracias, mi amiga. Have a safe trip.

      Like

  9. Sunny says:

    What a beautiful homage to your memories of your father in law. I am so sorry for your loss. Xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sunny. XOX

      Like

  10. steven wellman says:

    This is really a lovely homage. My deepest condolences to you both. Xoxo.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lucky, I appreciate the thought.

      Like

  11. This is lovely. Such a meaningful memorial of life and a tangible way to work through grief. What a blessing. xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Amanda, for stopping by and posting a comment. Looking forward to seeing you this summer!

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.

