Obsessed with Ben Hecht’s machina obscura

I got goosebumps the first time I watched this video, a hundred times later, I still do. Ben Hecht is an amazing artist and incorporates two of my favorite mediums, encaustic and assemblage. Do yourself a favor and watch this video, then subscribe to his YouTube channel.

He is also a photographer, you can see more of his work here and on facebook.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. OMGODDESS Kathie, This was so incredibly awesome and inspiring that I watched it twice before sending you this comment. Ben Hecht is a mystic – in addition to his unbelievable sensitivity to the human spirit, he is a true master at his craft. I don’t think this video can be passed around enough, in that it reminds us of how utterly important art is to the nourishment of our souls, and how the Universe gives us a bountiful kit of tools to accomplish creative self-expression. As you have, I will revisit this video often. Thank you for sharing it with all of us, and thank you Universe for giving us such a gift in Ben.

    Like

    1. It is thrilling to watch, isn’t it? Glad you liked it.

      Like

  2. Laura says:

    Kathie, I have never been so touched to the core by a piece of art as I have been to this. I collect globes, old clock and watch parts, his Machina Obscura speaks to my heart, Thank you for sharing the video and introducing Ben’s art to me.

    Like

    1. Perhaps you will be trying something like this but on a smaller scale? I am happy to introduce you to him, Laura.

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.

