Santos Doll Making with Tory Brokenshire

It’s been wild these past two weeks, two art conferences in two cities, in two different states, but that’s what had to happen to attend classes with three teachers I really admire.

Tory Brokenshire from Salem, OR is a renaissance woman who can do it all, but I am most taken with her assemblages, specifically her Santos dolls.  I have quite a few of her pieces listed in my Pinterest Assemblage board. When I saw that she was teaching three classes at Art and Soul in Portland, I had to go, even though it was on the heels of another conference. I missed her Santos class at the final Artfest, but I wasn’t about to miss another one.

Meet Teresa, she thinks she is a great cook, but really, all she wants to do is look pretty and be admired for her accessories.

www.kathievezzani.com; Santos Doll
Santos Doll by Kathie Vezzani
www.kathievezzani.com; Santos Doll
Close up of Santos Doll by Kathie Vezzani

Just to make Teresa happy, here is a close up of her shoes. Any guesses as to what they were?

www.kathievezzani.com

And here is the Santos Doll I bought from Tory who is now sitting and playing nicely with her new friends. I am thrilled to have her.

www.kathievezzani.com; Santos Dolls; Tory Brokenshire
Family of Santos Dolls created by Kathie Vezzani and the one with wings by Tory Brokenshire

Here’s a close up of Tory’s doll. Isn’t she just delightful?

www.kathievezzani.com
Santos Doll by Tory Brokenshire

.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. David Reid says:

    These are so cool! Sinister and yearning at the same time. Ta!

    Like

    1. Great combination, don’t you think, David?!

      Like

  2. Betti Zucker says:

    Love your dollies… another thing we have in common. What a surprise

    Like

    1. Yes, Betti, but I like to make mine………..have fun at your conference.

      Like

  3. Amy Persons says:

    Love the shoes. I have NO CLUE as to what they originally were. Clever you!

    Like

    1. They were ashtrays, can you believe it? This is a much better use for them, don’t you agree?

      Like

  4. Lovin’ Teresa – the cook. And lovin’ the shoes too … ashtrays … who would of thought. 🙂

    Like

    1. I know, right? I’ve never seen ash trays like that before, but I can picture someone holding them in their hand…..does tie up your drinking hand, though.

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.

