Am I a santeros or a santeras?

www.kathievezzani.com
Esmerelda, The Guardian, and Rosita

Who knew I was going to become a Santeros? Or would it be Santeras since I am female? I am no “saint maker” but did have fun creating these one-of-a-kind dolls. Santos dolls fascinate me, specifically the caged dolls for some time now. My last trip to Oaxaca, I saw some beautiful ones in an antique store. You can imagine the price. Originally, priests carved Santos dolls in the seventeenth century for use as in-home alters for small villages who did not have a priest or for parishioners who could not travel to a church.

The Santos are closely related to Creche figures implemented in Italy by St. Francis of Assisi (I have a small white figure from my visit there from many years ago). As the Spaniards descended upon the Americas, they brought these dolls with them and few remain, therefore, the hefty 4 and 5 digit figure price tag.

My dolls certainly do not exude any religious connotations, instead I take a more modern, rustic approach to Santos doll making. It is my honor to have you  meet Rosita’s friends, Esmerelda and The Guardian.

www.kathievezzani.com
Esmerelda Santos
www.kathievezzani.com
The Guardian

To learn how to make the basic Santos, go to Jeanne Oliver’s site and sign up for Jennifer Rizzo’s Santos Class. It’s only $19 and is open for a year…..quite the bargain and look what you can do with your new found skills!

Esmerelda available here and Rosita here.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. carlanda williamson says:

    i love these kathie!!!!! truly!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Carlanda. I’m glad that you like them so much.

      Like

  2. Oh My Goodness – these are too too special – love them both. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

    1. Did you notice Esmerelda’s base on her hat?

      Like

  3. Shelly Penko says:

    Oh, these are so cool! I love the birdcage one especially!!!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Shelly, I knew that I had to make a Santos when I found the birdcage at a garage sale.

      Like

  4. Leslie van der Heide says:

    Hi Kathie,
    Love your santeros/as idea. I saw your name on my post on face to face. Did you take a class from Misty?
    I am a native of Albuquerque, NM so you can see why I am crazy about your picutres above, tney are beautiful.
    Have you been to NM or maybe to Sant fe?
    greatings, Leslie

    Like

    1. Hi Leslie, yes, I have taken classes with Misty, two on line and one at Artfest. I have not yet been to NM, but hope to one day. I’m happy that my Santos dolls spoke to you! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      Like

      1. Leslie van der Heide says:

        Kathie,
        I have been trying to find the Santeros class but it is not available from here. I tried google but did not find her class. Is it still running?
        Thank you,Leslie

        Like

  5. Amy Persons says:

    Love these, love their jewelry!

    Like

    1. Me, too! You can’t see it too well, but the Guardian’s necklace has a tag that says Guardian. Oh, and the background of Esmerelda’s necklace? It’s the bottom of the little teapot in circus that I cut out–nothing goes to waste!

      Like

  6. Leslie, the class is still on, just click on the links at the bottom of my posting. http://jeanneoliver.ning.com/

    Like

Your comments are appreciated.

