Joynal Portrait

I’ve been painting away in my Joynal class with Jane Davenport. There are some very talented people taking this class and I am enjoying seeing what everyone does with each week’s homework. This week was painting large pictures (yes!) once following Jane’s video and the other on our own. This is my piece painted on my own. I used one of Bob’s cradled artist boards with acrylics and oil pastels.

We are working in two journals, one that we made and mine is pictured below. I found a roll of old wall paper in La Conner and used it for the covers. The other journal is an altered book. Mine is the Strange Stains and Mysterious Smells by Terry Jones and Brian Proud. The odd creatures have been fun to incorporate into my paintings.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Bob Martin says:

    Your commitment shows, Kathie! You’re work is lovely.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Bob, I appreciate your lovely comment.

      Like

  2. Tammie says:

    hello and thank you for your visit to my blogs…
    i love this large painting Kathie, it is wonderful. the darkness around her eyes gives so much character to it.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Tammie. I added the dark shadow under the chin and “breasticles” as Jane suggested after I posted this. It really helps tie it together. It’s those little things that I am finding helps me take my painting to another level.

      Like

Your comments are appreciated.

