Road Trip-Portland Day 1

What a crazy, wonderful day we had in Portland. First, Greg Hanson suggested that we stop at Annie Meyer Artwork Gallery to see the box exhibit. Greg has three of his assemblage pieces there, with more than 20 pieces by other assemblage artists. Way cool.

Fortunately, I also knew where Greg sold his work at the Cannibals Gallery in West Portland. We met the curator of the box exhibit, Michael, there and Cannibals’ owner, Pamela Springfield. What an interesting, intelligent woman–I was smitten.

I am so excited because not only did I get to see a lot of Greg’s work, I purchased a piece for my studio. Greg usually comes up with these unique titles for his pieces, but I picked one that he told me that he didn’t name. Nonetheless, I love it and unfortunately, this picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s an assemblage using a cigar box.

We drove to Ashland, OR, home of the Shakespeare Festival, for our next leg of our trip. It’s a five-hour trip so I thought I would put it to good use and draw. I found an old art book on Modigliani’s art in Portland, so I drew one of his paintings using watercolors. Love that Aquash water paintbrush recommended by Jane Davenport. It’s plastic so you fill the handle up with water and then you have a brush tip on the other end.

Since I knew that we were going to use colored pencils in our next lesson for Jane’s Supplies Me class, I thought I would get a head start and draw one now. I used prismacolor pencils, my peerless watercolor traveling book and Caran D’ Ache neocolor watersoluble crayons for the background. Limited supplies and room to work in the front of a car going 75 MPH on I-5 winding its way up Grant’s pass.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I like those brushes and water soluble crayons too. All the fun of watercolor without the fussiness. Great way to add layered color to pieces, as you have done here. In a car, no less!

    Like

Your comments are appreciated.

