Fun Junk

Found the most delicious stuff for my mixed media projects yesterday. My friend Mary and I traveled south to Olympia to discover wonderful junky things at Fun Junk where, according to their tag line, there are “piles of old stuff.” Right off of Mud Bay Rd, Exit #104 off of I-5 you will find an old gas station that the delightful Nancy Heinrich and her business partner George Tart have turned into a treasure trove. Open Fridays and Saturdays from 10-6:00 p.m. Stop by at 3644 Mud Bay Road or contact them directly at redun@comcast.net. Nancy also blogs at Nancy’s Fun Junk.

Photo by Jessica Eskelson

Nancy told me that they travel far and wide to gather their treasures. They went to Massachusetts to the Brimfield Antique Show and the beginning of each month they pack up their travel trailer, and stopping along the way, of course, at garage sales and any other interesting place to find “junk” before setting up their booth at Alameda Point Antique Fair in San Francisco. They also show at the Farm Chicks Show in Spokane and at Fremont Market in Seattle.

For more pictures, check out Jessica’s blog post Window Ledge Arts on her interview with Nancy.

As I was chatting with Nancy about her wares she asked if I had been to Hippo Hardware in Portland. Just the name intrigues me so I went on line and I definitely have to make a trip down there.

My timing may have to be August 18 so that I can attend Plucky Maidens Junk Fest.

Your comments are appreciated.

